Why a blog?

9 Sep

Little Hands Love Big was inspired by all of the small hands I’ve worked with over the past few years. These little hands sure do know how to love BIG, smile BIG, and care BIG. I really felt this over the past month as my husband and I relocated, and therefore I had to leave my job. I felt so loved, appreciated, and cared for as I told the families and children I had been working with that I was going to be leaving. Along with a mixture of emotions from leaving, I had to let go of the goals I had envisioned in my head of where I would take these kiddos through their treatment plans during their therapy sessions. I had always known, but taken for granted just how much I loved working with them each week. I enjoyed watching them grow, get stronger, and learn to do things they couldn’t do before. I had grown to love those kids and their families. It was so tough to leave. I now work for new families and kiddos, and I know over time, I will grow to love them too. I’ve always known it is part of my job description. I’ve always known how tough it is to leave. But, when it comes down to it, I never really leave these families, and they never really leave me. I learned so much from each child and parent I worked with. I have so many memories of funny things they said, tough things we overcame together, and “first time” moments such as tying their shoes, writing their name, or taking a bite of a food (not just any food, a food that once made them gag)! I already feel as if I could write a book. I will share my stories, overtime, of course with different names to protect their identity, because, I have some good ones. I will also share ideas I use during my treatment sessions, great ways to incorporate activities into home life, research on the latest treatment techniques, and other things I find that are worth sharing. Hope you enjoy! 🙂

In honor of moving to a new town, and getting a job at a new facility, with new co-workers, and new kiddos… a classic…

http://www.photohype.com/DrSeuss.htm

And, in honor of little hands who love big, I want to share this awesome book with you…

Go beyond “A is for Apple” with an alphabet book that builds character. As children learn and review their ABCs, they discover positive actions they can perform with their own small hands—like applauding, building, giving gifts made with love, helping, planting, recycling, and volunteering. These are simple things even toddlers can do for themselves and others. The message throughout is that everyone, no matter how young or how small, can make a difference in the lives of those around them. The book ends with big hands clapping. A warm, affirming book for the home, childcare, or preschool.

(From http://www.adamsliterary.com/clients/paratore/26bigthings/26bigthings.html)

 

 

Be blessed!

Amy

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

sentiMENTAL paRANTing

Serious thoughts and silly shenanigans

The OT-SI Project

Occupational Therapy Advocate & Admirer of Sensory Integration. Working and living to support people in living happy and healthy lives.

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Texana's Kitchen

Yummy food. Pithy commentary. Pretty pictures.

Aspiring OT

Life, learning, and everything in between

kirstyes

Books, Occupation - Magic!

Signature Moms

The signature resource for families.

Sugar & Cloth

DIY Inspired Living

Awesomely Awake

A field guide to living an intentional, creative and fun life -- with children.

FreeRangeKids

Give Our Kids the Freedom We Had

Plenty the Magazine

Living. Learning. Laughing

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Meet your creative goals

THE OT-SI PROJECT

Custom Sensory Solutions for Kids

Charl1010's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Morning Story and Dilbert

Inspiring, Encouraging, Healthy / Why waste the best stories of the World, pour a cup of your favorite beverage and let your worries drift away…

Shoes On The Wrong Feet

There's a fire over here, everyone panic! And other ramblings...

Crafts 'n Coffee

Get your creative buzz as we craft with STYROFOAM™ Brand Foam. Brought to you by The Dow Chemical Company.

